Hot Student Stories

Write the chemical symbols for three different atoms or atomic anions with 17 electrons.

Carlton Burgess

in Chemistry

1 answer

1 answer

William Cain on January 31, 2019

Chlorine, Cl, is the element with the atomic number (Z) is equal to 17.That means that the chlorine has 17 protons and 17 electrons.An anion is an atom that has gained electrons, which conferes a negative charge.The sulfur atom has 16 protons and 16 electrons, the son when it gains one of the electrons is converted into the anion O(-) with 17 electrons.Phosphorus, P, has atomic number 15, has 15 electrons, and when it gains two electrons becomes anion P(2-) with 17 electrons.Therefore, the answer is: P (2), S(-) and Cl.

Add you answer