Hot Student Stories

Who has received an honorary award from AMPAS?

William Cain

in Higher Education

1 answer
1 view

1 answer

Ramon Kelly on August 23, 2018

There are currently six special awards regularly presented by the Academy of motion picture Arts and Sciences (PTAS): (1) Prize of honour of the Academy, (2) Special Achievement Academy Award, (3) the Academy Scientific and Technical Award, (4), Irving G. Thalberg Memorial Award, (5) Jean Hersholt humanitarian Award, and (6) Gordon E. Sawyer Award. The honor award is not presented every year, but many years there is more than one recipient, so more than 100 people have received the award. Sometimes, the receiver receives an Oscar stattuette, but not always. The most recent recipients are listed below, for a complete list, please follow the link below. . 2000 - At the 73rd Academy Awards, Jack Cardiff received an honorary award of "master[y] of light and color", and Ernest Lehman received an honoary award "in recognition of a body of varied and enduring work.". 2001 - In the 74th edition of the Academy Awards, Sidney Poitier received an honorary award "in recognition of his remarkable accomplishments as an artist and as a human being", and Robert Redford received an honorary award as an "Actor, director, producer, creator of Sundance, inspiration to independent and innovative filmmakers everywhere.". 2002 - At the 75th Academy Awards, Peter O'toole "whose remarkable talents have provided cinema history with some of its most memorable characters", received an honorary award.. 2003 - At the 76 Academy Awards, Blake Edwards received an honorary award "in recognition of his writing, directing and producing an extraordinary body of work for the screen.". 2004 - At the 77th Academy Awards, Sidney Lumet received an honorary award "in recognition of his brilliant services to screenwriters, performers and the art of the moving image.". 2005 - At the 78th Academy Awards, Robert Altman received an honorary award "in recognition of a career that has repeatedly reinvented the art form and inspired filmmakers and audiences alike.". 2006 - At the 79th Academy Awards, Ennio Morricone received an honorary award "in recognition of his magnificent and multifaceted contributions to the art of film music.". 2007 - At the 80th Academy Awards, Robert F. Boyle received an honoary award "in recognition of one of cinema's great careers in art direction.". 2008 - At the 81st Academy Awards, no award of honor was presented.. 2009 - In the 82 academy Awards, Lauren Bacall, Roger Corman , and Gordon Willis will receive honorary awards..

Add you answer