Hot Student Stories

Which sequence is an example of radioactive decay? A. The nuclei of two hydrogen atoms fuse together, forming a helium nuclide. B. A calcium atom gives its electrons to two fluorine atoms, forming a formula unit of calcium fluoride. C. A polonium isotope becomes a lead isotope when the polonium nuclide emits two protons and two neutrons. D. Energy from an electric current splits a water molecule into two hydrogen atoms and one oxygen atom.

Annie Barnes

in Physics

1 answer

1 answer

Jeremy Wood on November 10, 2018

Answer: option C. An isotope of polonium is converted into an isotope of lead when the polonium nuclide emits two protons and two neutrons.Explanation:1) the Radioactive decay is the spontaneous process in which unstable nucleii lose energy by emitting radiation.2) There are three types of radiation: (i) α radiation, or α partilces. These are helium nuclei: two protons and two neutrons, that is what the option C. states.ii) β-radiation or β particles. These are the electrons in rapid movement.(iii) γ ratiation or gamma rays. Are high energy radiation, without mass and charge.3) This is a sketch for the radioactive decay of an isotope of polonium to become an isotope of lead by the emission of two protons and two neutrons, after the declaration of the option (C) :the polonium-210 → lead-206 + helium nucleous (two protons and two neutrons)

Add you answer