Hot Student Stories
top-5-grammar-and-spelling-checkers-to-rock-in-2019

In California what age can you stop paying child support when your child is in college?

Annie Barnes

in Student Loans

follow
followin
1 answer
3 views

1 answer


Kathy Robinson on April 2, 2018

Depends on the terms of the court order/divorce agreement. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Under California law, of the parents from the obligation to pay child support continues until, * · the child becomes 18 years of age, or · the child has not graduated from high school, in which case the child continues until the child has graduated from high school or becomes 19, whichever is first, or · the child is physically or mentally incapacitated, or · the parents of the child have agreed that child support is to continue into the college years and that an agreement may be imposed by the Family Law Court, or · the child has demonstrated freedom from parental control or support, and an ability to be self-sufficient, a child who is in active military service, or a child that becomes lawfully adopted by another party, or · if no arrears owed on child support, a court order may enforce collection of the arrears until the debt is paid in full, including the interest that has accumulated, even after the child reaches 18 years of age


Add you answer