Hot Student Stories

How are countries in the European union linked

Zach Chandler

in Social studies

1 answer

1 answer

Chelsea Hayes on May 23, 2018

The EU is a political and economic union of 28 countries, which developed an internal single market through a standardised system of laws. Politically, these 28 countries are linked by the European Parliament, the European Commission, the Council of Europe and the European Council (the latter two have similar names, but they have different functionalities). Economically, on the part of the ECB - the European Central Bank. Monetarily, the euro area and the EURO currency, which is present in 19/28 countries. Also, there is a Schengen area, where passports are abolished and you can travel freely, BUT not all countries are in the EU, are in the Schengen area (ex. Romania, Bulgaria); and vice versa: Norway is not in EU, but is part of the Schengen zone.I hope I helped, I used to have a "map" of the interactions of all of these countries, in different unions and institutions, but I can't find it. If you need to help you understand the EU better, tell me and I will intensely. Update: here is the map.

Add you answer